Blogging from A to Z Challenge 2014: “C” – ‘CHILDHOOD Memories’

I was trying to figure out a topic for my next challenge.. Then I decided. So here it is..

20140409-224714.jpg

#AtoZChallenge – The Letter “C” – ‘CHILDHOOD Memories: from A to Z’

A: ARLYN

– A name given by my cousin – can you believe that? Just stumble upon the definition of my name based on the Kabalarian Philosophy, I have to say if sure pretty much described all of me!

20140409-225704.jpg

B: BOOKS

– I dunno how it began but I am sure it must’ve been my sisters’ – So I grew up reading these.. Ring a bell? *hee2*

20140409-230502.jpg

C: CASSETTE Tapes

– My Prized Possessions! Those were the days when radio’s available in every room. The moment a favorite song comes on, I’d race to the radio just to have the song taped to my blank tapes – Old School Version of Music Downloads 😉

20140409-231022.jpg

D: DRESSES

– Me No Likey Wearing Dresses.. Can you spot that grumps on my face?

😜20140409-231806.jpg

E: ELECTRIC Youth

– Zappin’ it to ya! *lol* My Generation.. Love ya Debs!

20140409-232115.jpg

F: FARRER Primary School

– Knowledge Is Power! Yeah!!!

20140409-234620.jpg

G: GERSANG

– The Only Malaysia Rock Band I’ve ever adored!

 20140410-000323.jpg

H: HALF A Person

– “And if you have five seconds to spare, then I’ll tell you the story of my life.. ” – The Smiths

I: ICE CREAM

– My Favorite then and now.

20140410-085908.jpg

J: The JETS

– All time favorite love song- You Got It All

K: KANDANG KERBAU Hospital

– Was born at the former building of KKH. The old creepy lookin’ one.. Do you know: Five babies were born here on the very first day it opened; three Malays, one Japanese and one Chinese. – for more history notes, read it up here

The Old Kandang Kerbau Hospital

L: LOVE You Now

– Support Local Music: Me Love This! ‘Love You Now’ by The Black Sun 

M: MADONNA

– Who’s That Girl?

N: NEW KIDS ON THE BLOCK

– The last of my groupie days.. *lol*

 

O: BigO

– Before I Get Old Magazine: Turned to indie and local music scene after that heartbreaking NKOTB concert.. *lol* Oh well..

BigO

P: The PRETENDERS

– Don’t Get Me Wrong

Q: QUEENSTOWN

– My Childhood Home, My First Swimming Pool, My First Running Track, My First and All-Time Favorite Library.  Just found out there’s FREE Guided Tour of Queenstown every last Sunday of the month! Yipppeee!! So gonna do this! 

The Mini Queenstown Trail

R: RUSH RUSH

– Paula Abdul’s Rush Rush: the only reason I loved this vid was of cos..  Keanu Reeves

S: The STONED Revivals

– My Kinda Local Band

Oh the good ol’ days.. Support Your Musician Friends.. Let’s Play Groupie! *lol* – Opening Act for Butterfingers at Johor Bahru (1997)

T: TAH CHUNG Emporium

– The nearest mall I could go to just to window shop or to purchase that $0.50 notebooks

Before All the Big Malls in the Heartlands, there was.. Tah Chung Emporium at Queenstown!

U: The UBIQUITOUS Mr Lovegrove

– Thanks to my trusted sec sch buddy, I got hooked to the tunes of Dead Can Dance at age 15.

V: VIKING Road

– Blk 141 Viking Road – just another place I used to call home..

Yup.. That spot right there - Used to be a playground and a couple blocks of flats. City Centre Living at its best.

Yup.. That spot right there – Used to be a playground and a couple blocks of flats. City Centre Living at its best.

W: “WHY You So Like Dat?”

– Singlish: Happening since the 90’s

MC Siva Choy and the Kopi Kat Klan

MC Siva Choy and the Kopi Kat Klan

X: XANADU The Movie 

– At age 4, I so wanted to be ONJ..

XANADU – My Numero Uno Movie at age 4.

Y: YOU Light Up My Life 

– A song that’s always on air on Gold 90FM way back in the 80’s till today.. You Light Up My Life by Debbie Boon

Z: ZERO Point!

– “Wanna play Yay-Yay?” – How high can you jump?

Leave a Reply

